CAR ACCIDENTS ATTORNEY IN ISSAQUAH, WASHINGTON
According to the Washington State Department of Transportation, in 2020, there were a total of 86,263 car accidents in the state, and 2,081 of those crashes resulted in a possible serious injury. In addition to creating health problems, car accidents often create financial burdens. The victim of an accident may need to take time off work to see the doctor or may need to pay for repairs to their damaged vehicle. These extra costs can quickly add up and cause serious stress.
At The Pearson Law Firm, P.S., I want to make sure that the victims of car accidents receive the financial support they need. We have dedicated ourselves to representing only individuals – not corporations or insurance companies. I'm committed to serving the people of Pierce County, King County, Thurston County, Snohomish County, and throughout Washington. If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident, contact me for compassionate representation in your personal injury claim.
Washington Is an At-Fault State
Washington is an at-fault state, which means that the person who was responsible for causing the accident will be held liable for the expenses the accident creates. Typically, that person’s insurance company must cover those expenses.
After a car crash, there are three different routes you can take to recover the funds you need for the costs created by the accident.
The first option is to file a claim with your own insurance company. You assume that the losses from the accident are covered by your policy. Usually, your insurance company will then contact the at-fault driver’s insurance company for payment.
The second option is to file a claim against the at-fault driver. You deal with their insurance company instead of going through your own.
The third option is to file a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver. This is a route you may need to take if the driver or insurance companies are not working with you.
Washington Insurance Requirements
Drivers in Washington must carry a liability insurance policy that complies with state law. Liability insurance must cover $25,000 for injuries or death to one person in an accident you cause and $50,000 for total injuries or death to all people in an accident you cause. When it comes to property, your liability insurance must cover $10,000 for damages to other people’s property in an accident you cause.
Washington drivers must also apply for a certificate of deposit with the state’s Department of Licensing. This guarantees financial responsibility for an accident.
Lastly, Washington drivers must have a liability bond of at least $60,000.
State Laws Addressing Personal Injury Claims
If you are considering filing a personal injury lawsuit for damages caused by a car wreck, note these two important aspects of Washington state law.
Statute of Limitations
In Washington, you have three years after the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. In almost all cases, your lawsuit will not be considered if you wait any longer than three years after the accident to file.
Modified Comparative Fault State
Washington is a modified comparative fault state. That means if you are found to be partially at fault for the accident, then the amount of money (also known as the award) that you would receive in the lawsuit will be reduced by the percentage that the accident was your fault.
For example, if you were going to receive $100,000, but the accident was determined to be 75% your fault, then you would ultimately receive $25,000 under Washington’s modified comparative fault rule.
Filing a Wrongful Death Claim
In the most tragic car accident scenarios, a loved one passes away. The family must deal with this unexpected, horrible situation while also planning and paying for the funeral. It is possible to file a wrongful death claim to recover financial support in this extremely difficult situation.
If a person caused the death of another due to their own wrongful act, negligence, or default, then it is possible to file a wrongful death lawsuit in Washington. The lawsuit must be filed within three years after the date of the person’s passing.
Who Can File?
In Washington, only the personal representative, also known as the executor, of the deceased’s estate can file a wrongful death claim. If the deceased did not name an executor in their will, then the court will appoint a personal representative.
CAR ACCIDENTS ATTORNEYS IN ISSAQUAH, WASHINGTON
For over 40 years, The Pearson Law Firm, P.S. has been helping clients work for a resolution that’s in their best interests. I want to listen to you, understand your situation, and advocate for you however needed. Contact me today to schedule your free consultation. I am proud to help clients in Pierce County, King County, Thurston County, Snohomish County, and throughout Washington.